The Ocean’s Gift

I am drawn to Beauty here and want to participate in some way. You who have found some clarity and direction in your Passions, how did that happen? Was it obvious what you wanted to do? Did it come in tiny pieces? Did you mainly Seek it or Discover it?????

Love is The Answer

I wrote this poem many years ago, when matters of the heart and plans went awry and were my spiritual and emotional challenges. This poem was included in the United Nations’ collection of poetry for peace. Nowadays, life is sweeter because of the lessons of yesterday.

0eba4c7fe1423e168dca1e3f99c779fc (1)

When life casts its gray shadows on me

and the tests seem too much to take.

When my heart has been broken once again –

and my dreams have faded into nothingness,

the white sands of the beach is where I go.

Running past sand castles with the

hidden treasures the sands may hold –

running past lovers basking in the warmth

 of the eternal sun,

I reach for the cool embrace of the ocean’s waves.

surf5

Together we dance to the ebb and flow

of the tide of life,

and together we stand unafraid.

Woman Walks in the Golden Light by moonjazz

In the silence of the distance

the ocean’s strength…

View original post 17 more words

5 thoughts on “The Ocean’s Gift

  1. Thank you so much for reblogging my poem. 🙂 I simplified my life, let go of a style of living that was too stressful and not leaving me with enough time to relax and do the things I enjoy. I have always enjoyed writing, inspiration and being of service. I think we need to listen to our hearts, and sometimes bypass the mind’s fears when we want to find or express our passion. If I had listened to only my mind, I would never have had the courage to leave a long time job and move out of my State.

  2. I had no idea! Someone I look up to suggested it and because I trusted her and myself I guess, I just started writing (to see what I had to say)- I had no I idea what I would say or what form it would take. I just knew I had to find some original words of my own. . I am so thankful that anything original is in there. Sometimes I sit at my computer until something original come up.
    I did find sites that resonated with me. And somehow found I was a mix of them all.
    I write so that when I push publish, I feel like I have released something. It feels good – even if no one reads it. It is from my heart.
    I write what my heart would say. Not my head. I just let all the head stuff spin around and wait for what my heart wants to say.
    You have much wisdom 🙂

  3. Laurie, you have a way of capturing an essential thought in just a few words. I think a book of what you have written here would have a lot of appeal. There are publishers who work directly with folks who have blogged

  4. What a nice surprise to see Marie’s poem here… lovely, soothing, inspiring sentiments. I think beauty has enter my heart during times when it felt cracked open by sadness…especially 5-8 years ago…but it’s opening again these days too. I think I may have used “beauty” to heal. Both Marie’s and Laurie’s process is similar to what I “do” too….speaking from my heart. But also learning ways for my thoughts to support my heart, too…so a combination of head and heart, I guess…but mostly beauty of color, nature, symbols and the human spirit.

  5. Native Indians believe that by the age of three, parents will know what their child’s life work will be. Writing was my passion from an early age and I was fortunate to have made a career of it. Like you, I followed my heart even when there were better paying jobs out there. I was willing to make sacrifices to fulfill my destiny and oftentimes that’s what it takes.

Leave a Reply

